# SECOND ANNOUNCEMENT AND CALL FOR PAPER

# 21st International Toki Conference (ITC-21) on Integration of Fusion Science and Technology for Steady State Operation

November 28 - December 1, 2011 Ceratopia Toki, Toki-City, Gifu, Japan <u>http://itc.nifs.ac.jp</u>

# INTRODUCTION

The International Toki Conference (ITC) is an international conference for the discussion and presentation of research activities related to nuclear fusion and plasma. It has been held annually by the National Institute for Fusion Science in Toki city since 1989.

## **SCOPE**

Despite recent progress, steady state operation of fusion energy systems remains a major issue of research. The ITC-21 will focus on the integration of key science and technology towards high performance fusion energy systems with the capability for steady state operation. The conference topics cover a wide range of research in fusion science and near-term and long-term technology oriented to steady state operation.

## **LIST OF TOPICS**

- 1. Progress in fusion plasma confinement
- 2. Plasma-wall interactions and divertor technology
- 3. Materials and blankets
- 4. Superconducting magnets, cryogenic systems and related technologies
- 5. Heating and fueling
- 6. Plasma diagnostics and control
- 7. Safety, environment and tritium control
- 8. Modeling and simulation for fusion plasma
- 9. Concepts of steady state DEMO
- 10. Interdisciplinary issues between fusion and other fields

# **PLACE**

Ceratopia Toki (4 Tokitsu-Takayama, Toki 509-5121, Gifu, Japan)

#### CONFERENCE DATE

November 28 (Mon.) – December 1 (Thur.), 2011.

# **LANGUAGE**

English is the working language of the conference.

# **ABSTRACT SUBMISSION**

Abstract submission can be made starting July 8, 2011 through the Conference web site (<u>http://itc.nifs.ac.jp/</u>). Authors are requested to submit a one-page abstract by August 20, 2011. Papers should contain original and previously unpublished work on the conference topics. Abstracts should be sufficiently detailed in describing the aim of the work and the obtained results. The Program Committee will select the papers on the basis of the submitted abstracts.

Authors will be notified on acceptance of abstracts and assignment of their papers into sessions by September 10, 2011. The accepted abstracts will be bound as a booklet and

distributed to participants at the Conference. They will be posted on the Conference web site as well.

#### REGISTRATION

All registrations (other than abstract submission) can be made starting September 10, 2011 through the Conference web site. All attendees are requested to register by October 10, 2011.

# **REGISTRATION FEE**

The registration fee is 25,000 yen, and the fee for students is 15,000 yen (both including the banquet fee, which cannot be subtracted). The registration fee includes:

(1) Access to all sessions of the Scientific Program

- (2) An abstract booklet
- (3) Coffee break refreshments and the banquet

(4) Submission of one paper for the conference publication provided the abstract has been previously accepted

Banquet ticket for an accompanied person is 5,000 yen. The registration fee is payable at the conference site (only by cash in Japanese yen).

## PAPER SUBMISSION

The papers presented in the conference can be submitted to Plasma and Fusion Research (http://www.jspf.or.jp/PFR/) that is an electronic journal published by the Japan Society of Plasma Science and Nuclear Fusion Research. The papers go through all the peer-review process, and those accepted will be published as regular papers in the academic journal, PFR. Detailed information will be posted on the conference web-site once it is available.

## **VISAS**

In case you need a visa to enter Japan, required official documents will be provided through local organizing committee (itc21@nifs.ac.jp), upon request.

#### EXCURSION

Excursion (at your own expense) will be planned in the afternoon on 30<sup>th</sup> November (Wed). Detailed information will be posted on the conference web-site once it is available.

#### **IMPORTANT DATES**

Start of on-line abstract submission: Deadline for abstract submission: Notification of abstract acceptance: Deadline for registration: Deadline for paper submission: Conference: July 8, 2011 August 20, 2011 September 10, 2011 October 10, 2011 December 1, 2011 November 28 - December 1, 2011

# INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

A. Komori (Japan, Chair), H. Azechi (Japan), B. Blackwell (Australia), T. Hino (Japan), R. Horiuchi (Japan), S. Imagawa (Japan), T. Imai (Japan), S. Ishiguro (Japan), O. Kaneko (Japan), K. Kawahata (Japan), T. Klinger (Germany), L. M. Kovrizhnykh (Russia), G. S. Lee (Korea), J. G. Li (China), O. Mitarai (Japan), T. Mito (Japan), T. Muroga (Japan), T. Mutoh (Japan), H. Ninomiya (Japan), Y. Ogawa (Japan), Y. Ohsawa (Japan), S. Prager (U.S.A.), A. Sagara (Japan), J. Sanchez (Spain), F. Sano (Japan), M. Sasao (Japan), H. Sugama (Japan), Y. Takeiri (Japan), M. Tendler (Sweden), H. Yamada (Japan), J. W. Van Dam (U.S.A.), H. Zushi (Japan)

#### **INTERNATIONAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE**

J. Jacquinot (France, Chair), T. Muroga (Japan, Local Secretary), M. Akiba (Japan), Y. Asakura (Japan), E. Azizov (Russia), A. Becoulet (France), A. Fukuyama (Japan), P. Garin (Japan), M.

21st International Toki Conference

Glugla (France), T. Goto (Japan), T. Hamajima (Japan), K. Hanada (Japan), H. Hashizume (Japan), Y. Hirooka (Japan), A. Ishizawa (Japan), S. Kado (Japan), D. Kato (Japan), S. Kubo (Japan), M. Kwon (Korea), B. Lloyd (U.K.), T. Mito (Japan), M. Mori (Japan), K. Nagasaki (Japan), F. Najmabadi (U.S.A.), H. Nakanishi (Japan), M. Nishiura (Japan), T. Norimatsu (Japan), N. Ohno (Japan), S. Okamura (Japan), K. Okuno (Japan), M. Ono (U.S.A.), M. Porkolab (U.S.A.), K. Sakamoto (Japan), M. Sakamoto (Japan), R. Sakamoto (Japan), B. Sarkar (India), M. Skoric (Japan), Y. Ueda (Japan), B. Wan (China), B. Wolf (Germany)

# LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

A. Sagara (Chair), H. Zushi (Co-chair), T. Mito (Co-chair), S. Imagawa (Scientific Secretary), T. Akiyama, H. Chikaraishi, T. Goto, Y. Hishinuma, K.Ida, R. Ishizaki, A. Ishizawa, M. Isobe, A. Itoh, A. Iwamoto, D. Kato, T. Kawano, M. Kobayashi, S. Kubo, S. Masuzaki, J. Miyazawa, N. Mizuguchi, T. Muraga, H. Nakamura, T. Nagasaka, M. Nishiura, T. Obana, K. Okada, R. Sakamoto, M. Skoric, Y. Suzuki, T. Taki, H. Tamura, M. Tanaka, T. Tanaka, M. Tokitani, Y. Tomita, K. Tsumori, S. Yamada, M. Yamanaka, N. Yanagi, K. Yasui, M. Yoshinuma