#### **First Announcement**

# The 25th International Toki Conference (ITC-25)

# Creating the Future -- Innovative Science of Plasma and Fusion --

November 3-6, 2015 Ceratopia Toki, Toki-city, Gifu, Japan http://itc.nifs.ac.jp

#### **Scope**

The International Toki Conference is a topical meeting dedicated to a specific subject related to plasma and fusion science. The series began in 1989 with the founding of the National Institute for Fusion Science and has been held on an annual basis ever since.

The last 10 years have seen great advances in the plasma and fusion sciences based on progress in basic physics and technology. These developments related to plasma and fusion sciences also accelerate innovative applications of plasmas in industrial, biomedical, agricultural, and other fields. With this background, we are planning the 25th International Toki Conference to explore new aspects in creating the future through the innovative sciences of plasma and fusion.

#### **Topics**

- (1) Helical Plasma Research
- (2) Tokamak and ITER Related Research
- (3) Innovative Applications of Plasmas
  - Industrial/Chemical/Medical and Agricultural Applications -
- (4) Basic Plasma Science Laboratory and Space Plasmas-
- (5) Fusion Technology Research
- (6) Theory and Simulation Research
- (7) Laser Plasma Sciences
- (8) Plasma Wall Interaction Research
- (9) Other Fields of Sciences

# Plenary speakers

Nathaniel J. Fisch (PPPL)

Heinrich Laqua (MP-IPP) Masayuki Ono (PPPL) Jean-Marie Noterdaeme (MP-IPP)

### **Meeting format**

The meeting will consist of invited and contributed oral presentations, and poster sessions. The abstracts will be selected by the International Program Committee as either oral or poster presentations. A projector with a laptop personal computer (PC) will be available for speakers to present their papers. Power Point or PDF formats are recommended. The official language of the meeting is English.

## **Abstract submission**

Authors are invited to submit one-page abstracts of their contributed papers on-line before July 31, 2015. Detailed instructions on abstract submission will appear on the conference website at http://itc.nifs.ac.jp. A printed book of abstracts of invited and contributed papers or another format which includes files of abstracts will be distributed to participants at the conference.

## Paper submission (Conference proceedings)

Original or review articles related to the conference topics are encouraged to be submitted to *Plasma and Fusion Research* ( http://www.jspf.or.jp/PFR/ ). Each submitted paper will be put through a peer-review process, and those accepted will be published as regular articles in the journal.

## **Registration**

The registration fee is 20,000JPY (15,000JPY for student).

# **Important dates**

Deadline for abstract submission: July 31, 2015

Notification of abstract acceptance: August 21, 2015

Deadline for request of official documents required for visa: August 27, 2015

Deadline for registration: September 18, 2015

Deadline for paper submission: November 3, 2015

Conference: November 3-6, 2015

#### **Visas**

In case you require a visa to enter Japan, necessary official documents will be provided through the Local Organizing Committee (itc25-visa@nifs.ac.jp) after acceptance of your abstract, upon request.

## **International Advisory Committee**

Y. Takeiri (Chair), H. Azechi, A. Ando, N. Ohno, Y. Ogawa, Y. Nakashima, K. Hanada, A. Fukuyama, T. Mizuuchi, M. Mori, M. Wada, O. Kaneko, T. Morisaki, M. Osakabe, R. Horiuchi, A. Sagara, S. Imagawa, T. Mutoh, T. Mito, T. Muroga, S. Ishiguro, K. Nishimura, H. Sugama, S. Sakakibara, T. Klinger (Germany), M. Zarnstroff (USA), M. Kwon (Korea), V. Antoni (Italy)

## **International Program Committee**

M. Ichimura (Chair), S. Kubo (Vice-Chair), T. Mutoh, H. Laqua (Germany), V. Antoni (Italy), M. Ono (USA), J. Noterdaeme (Germany), M. Nagatsu, Y. Sakawa, S. Murakami, A. Hatayama, H. Idei, M. Inomoto, Y. Nakamura, H. Sugama, I. Murakami, Y. Suzuki, J. Miyazawa, K. Tsumori, S. Ohdachi, T. Nagasaka, K. Nagaoka, T. Ii

#### **Local Organizing Committee**

T. Mutoh (Chair), K. Nagaoka (Scientific Secretary), S. Kubo, T. Shimozuma, M. Osakabe, Y. Nakamura, K. Tsumori, S. Ohdachi, K. Saito, T. Seki, Y. Yoshimura, H. Igami, H. Kasahara, K. Ikeda, H. Nakano, H. Takahashi, M. Kisaki, R. Seki, S. Kamio, A. Ito, S. Takada, T. Ii, T. Kobayashi, H. Noto, T. Nakata, R. Makino, T. Kato, S. Sugie

## **General Contact Address**

itc25@nifs.ac.jp