First announcement

The 30th International Toki Conference on Plasma and Fusion Research (ITC30)

November 16-19, 2021 Connected Online for Video Conferencing https://itc.nifs.ac.jp

Scope

The International Toki Conference is a topical meeting dedicated to a specific subject related to plasma and fusion science. The series began in 1989 with the founding of the National Institute for Fusion Science and has been held on an annual basis ever since. This year marks the 30th time the series has been held.

In recent years, several new experiments have been started and construction of new devices are going forward around the world. Cooperation among experiments, theory, and simulations has become more important. Technological development, built on fundamental research topics, will be further utilized for applied plasma research and large-scale plasma science for fusion reactors. The conference topics cover a wide range of research in various plasma and fusion science.

Topics to Be Covered

- Magnetically Confined Plasmas
- Inertially Confined Plasmas
- Fusion Engineering and Material
- Basic Plasma Research and Plasma Application
- High Energy Density Science
- Space and Astrophysical Plasmas
- Data Driven Plasma Science
- Medical, Biological, Agricultural, and Environmental Applications of Plasmas

Meeting Format

The meeting will consist of plenary, invited, and contributed oral presentations. All presentations will be organized online for video conferencing. The registration fee is **free**. The official language of the meeting is English.

Date and Location

ITC30 will be held from November 16, 2021 through November 19, 2021 under online connection for video conferencing.

Abstract Submission

Authors are invited to submit one-page abstracts of their contributed papers online before September 1, 2021. For detailed instructions regarding abstract submissions, please visit the conference website (https://itc.nifs.ac.jp/).

*Note:

- The submitter of the abstract must be the same person as the first author of the abstract and the presenter at the conference.

First announcement

Publication

Original or review articles related to the conference topics as proceedings are encouraged to be submitted to *Plasma and Fusion Research* (http://www.jspf.or.jp/PFR/). Each submitted paper will be put through a peer-review process, and those accepted will be published as regular articles in the journal. Publication charge is not covered by the conference.

Best Student Presentation Award

This award encourages students to conduct research in the plasma and nuclear fusion fields. Applicants must submit an abstract of their presentation and must complete their registration through the website.

Important Dates

Start of online abstract submission:

Deadline for abstract submission:

September 1, 2021

Start of online registration:

Notification of abstract acceptance:

Deadline for online registration:

Conference:

Deadline for paper submission:

December 20, 2021

November 16-19, 2021

December 20, 2021

International Advisory Committee

Z. Yoshida (Chair), A. Fujisawa, K. Ida, S. Ishiguro, T. Kaneko, Y. Kishimoto, K. Kurihara, A. Matsuoka, I. Murakami, T. Muroga, K. Nagaoka, N. Ohno, M. Osakabe, T. Ozawa, S. Sakakibara, R. Sakamoto, H. Sugama, Y. Ueda, T. Watanabe, H. Yamada, N. Yanagi, H. Yoneda

International Program Committee

M. Kikuchi (Chair), T. Morisaki

MCF (Experiment):

K. Nagasaki (Sub-committee Chair), T. Pedersen, C. Hidalgo, D. Andersen, Yuhong Xu, Xianzu Gong, T. Hoang, H. Idei, Y.S. Na, K. Nagaoka

MCF (Theory and Simulation):

H. Sugama (Sub-committee Chair), P. Helander, A. Bhattachargee, F. Waelbroeck, G.Y. Fu, T. H. Watanabe, Y. Kishimoto, M. Yagi

FTM (Fusion Technology and Material):

H. Hashizume (Sub-committee Chair), R. Wolf, N. Yanagi, D. Whyte, J. Menard, D. Gates,

R. Kasada, N. Yusa, Zenmao Chen

ALP (Astro and Laser Plasmas):

A. Iwamoto

Astro: K. Kusano(Sub-committee co-chair), M. Hoshino, R. Matsumoto, A. S. BRUN, I. Murakami

Laser: S. Fujioka (Sub-committee co-chair), M. Kando, F. Albert, Hong Cai, J. Santos,

PSA (Plasma Science and Application):

- S. Hamaguchi (Sub-committee Chair), S. Benkadda, S. Yoshimura, H. Nakamura,
- S. Ohdachi

First announcement

Local Organizing Committee

R. Sakamoto (Chair), T. Tokuzawa (Scientific Secretary), Y. Goto, Y. Hayashi, Y. Kawamoto, A. Iwamoto, M. Kobayashi, T. Morisaki, G. Motojima, S. Muto, H. Nakamura, Y. Narushima, S. Nishimura, S. Ohdachi, Y. Ohtsubo, T. Oishi, H. Sakaue, M. Shoji, Y. Takemura, T. Tsujimura, K. Y. Watanabe, H. Yamaguchi, S. Yoshimura

General Contact Address

itc30@nifs.ac.jp