The International Toki Conference is a topical meeting dedicated to a specific subject related to plasma and fusion science. The series began in 1989 with the founding of the National Institute for Fusion Science and has been held on an annual basis ever since. The Asia Plasma and Fusion Association (APFA) was organized by the academic societies and research laboratories related to plasma and nuclear fusion researches in Japan, China, South Korea, and India. A biennial conference has been held since 1998 to exchange information on mutual scientific interests, to strengthen friendships, to promote education of young scientists and engineers, and to contribute to the development of plasma science and fusion engineering.
In recent years, several new experiments have started and construction of new devices is going forward around the world. In particular, research activities in Asian countries are advancing. With this background, we are planning the joint conference between the 26th International Toki Conference and the 11th APFA conference to explore the new era in plasma and fusion research.


Magnetically confined fusion research
Theory and simulation research
Laser plasma research
Fusion engineering and technology development
Reactor perspectives
Plasma Applications

Meeting format

The meeting will consist of invited and contributed oral presentations, and poster sessions. The abstracts will be selected by the International Program Committee as either oral or poster presentations. A projector with a laptop personal computer (PC) will be available for speakers to present their papers. Power Point or PDF formats are recommended. The official language of the meeting is English.

Abstract submission

Authors are invited to submit one-page abstracts of their contributed papers on-line before August 24, 2017. Detailed instructions on abstract submission will appear on the conference website at A printed book of abstracts of invited and contributed papers or another format which includes files of abstracts will be distributed to participants at the conference.

Paper submission (Conference proceedings)

Original articles related to the conference topics are encouraged to be submitted to Plasma and Fusion Research ( Each submitted paper will go through a peer-review process, and those accepted will be published as regular articles in the journal.

Important dates

Deadline for abstract submission: August 24, 2017
Deadline for request of official documents required for visa: August 31, 2017
Notification of abstract acceptance: September 15, 2017
Deadline for registration: October 13, 2017
Deadline for excursion participation: October 13, 2017
Conference: December 5-8, 2017
Deadline for paper submission: December 28, 2017


In the case that you require a visa to enter Japan, necessary official documents will be provided through the Local Organizing Committee ( upon request.

International Advisory Committee

Y. Takeiri (Chair), A. Ando, S. Chaturvedi (India), P. Chattopadhyay (India), S. Deshpande (India), K. Hanada, Y. S. Hwang (Korea), T. Klinger (Germany), K. Kim (Korea), A. Khare (India), Jiangang Li (China), Y. Liu (China), T. Mizuuchi, M. Mori, T.Muroga, T.Morisaki, Y. Nakashima, N. Ohno, Y. Ogawa, M. Osakabe, Y. K. Oh (Korea), H. Sugama, Y. Song (China), S. Sakakibara, M. Tendler (Sweden), M. Wada, F.L. Waelbroeck (USA), N. Yanagi, Z. Yoshida, T. Yamanishi, S. Zhu (China)

International Program Committee

Y. Kamada (Chair), D. Campbell (ITER), X. Duan (China), R. Ganesh (India), J. Ghosh (India), P. Gohil (USA), W. Heidbrink (USA), C. Hidalgo (Spain), L. Hu (China), S, Inagaki, S. Karkari (India), J. G. Kwak (Korea), S. Kubo, T. Kaneko, K. Nagasaki, H. Nagatomo, A. Nishimura, B. Pégourié (France), M. Puiatti (Italy), H. K. Park (Korea), U. Stroth (Germany), M. Sakamoto, T. Terai, R. Wolf (Germany), S. Yoon (Korea), M. Yagi, M. Zarnstorff (USA), M. Yokoyama, T. Akiyama

Local Organizing Committee

S. Sakakibara (Chair), T. Akiyama (Scientific Secretary), N. Ashikawa, M. Emoto, H. Funaba, M. Goto, A. Ito, M. Isobe, K. Ida, T. Ido, S. Kamio, S. Komada, Y. Kamiya, T. Kobayashi, S. Muto, K. Mukai, Y. Narushima, S. Nishimura, K. Nagaoka, M. Nakata, H. Nakanishi, T. Nishitani, S. Ohdachi, J. Ohkawa, K. Ogawa, T. Ozaki, B. J. Peterson, Y. Suzuki, A. Shimizu, T. Saze, C. Suzuki, T. Tokuzawa, N. Tamura, H. Takahashi, Y. Tsuchibushi, K, Tanaka, M. Yokoyama, T. Yoshida, I. Yamada, R. Yasuhara, M. Yoshinuma

General Contact Address