The International Toki Conference is a topical meeting dedicated to a specific subject related to plasma and fusion science. The series began in 1989 with the founding of the National Institute for Fusion Science and has been held on an annual basis ever since. The Asia Plasma and Fusion Association (APFA) was organized by the academic societies and research laboratories related to plasma and nuclear fusion research in Japan, China, South Korea, and India. A biennial conference has been held since 1998 to exchange information on mutual scientific interests, to strengthen friendships, to promote education of young scientists and engineers, and to contribute to the development of plasma science and fusion engineering.
In recent years, several new experiments have started, and construction of new devices is going forward around the world. In particular, research activities in Asian countries are advancing. With this background, we are planning the joint conference between the 26th International Toki Conference and the 11th APFA conference to explore the new era in plasma and fusion research.


Magnetically confined fusion research
Theory and simulation research
Laser plasma research
Fusion engineering and technology development
Reactor perspectives
Plasma applications

Plenary speakers

David Campbell (ITER)
Masaki Osakabe (NIFS)
Shigeru Morita (NIFS)
Alexander Fridman (Drexel Univ.)

Meeting format

The meeting will consist of plenary, invited, and contributed oral presentations, and poster sessions. The abstracts will be selected by the International Program Committee as either oral or poster presentations. The official language of the meeting is English.

Instructions for Oral Presentation

A projector with a laptop personal computer (Windows only) will be acceptable for presentations. Power Point or PDF formats are acceptable. Please send your presentation file to prior to the presentation day. Use of the dedicated laptop PC is strongly recommended.
Presentation time (+ discussion time):
- Plenary talks: 35 min. (+ 10 min.)
- Invited talks: 25 min. (+ 5 min.)
- Contributed talks: 15 min. (+ 5 min.)

Instruction for Poster Presentation

The poster board size is W180 cm and H120 cm.

Abstract submission

Authors are invited to submit one-page abstracts of their contributed papers on-line before August 24, 2017. Detailed instructions regarding abstract submission will appear on the conference website. A submitted abstract will be opened on the website without any access control.

Paper Submission (Conference Proceedings)

Original articles related to the conference topics are encouraged to be submitted to Plasma and Fusion Research (PFR), which is an electronic journal published by the Japan Society of Plasma Science and Nuclear Fusion Research. Each submitted paper will be put through a peer-review process by the special guest editors of ITC26&APFA11, and those submissions that are accepted will be published as regular articles in the journal.

1) The first author of the proceedings paper is expected to be the same as the first author on the presentation at the conference.
2) The submission fee and the reprint fee are NOT included in the registration fee.
3) Please submit the article through the ITC26&APFA11 web service, which will be opened soon.


The registration fee is 20,000 JPY (15,000 JPY for students). The registration fee covers:
- Access to all sessions of the scientific program
- Conference materials
- Conference banquet and coffee break refreshments
The banquet fee is charged as part of the registration fee regardless of attendance. The banquet fee for an accompanying person is 5,000 JPY.
Payment will be made through the PayPal.
For your registration and payment, please click "Registration Web Site" on the left side of this ITC26&APFA11 top page. Once you have completed your payment, the registration website becomes "read only". If you need to make a change in your registration or payment, please contact us


Two optional tours will be organized in the afternoon of December 7. Choose one of two options when you register on the website (First-come-first-served basis).
1. NIFS LHD and Virtual Reality (Limited to 30 persons. No fee.)
2. Toyota Commemorative Museum of Industry and Technology (Limited to 50 persons. Fee 500 JPY).
The final destination is the Ceratopia Toki for the conference dinner in both cases. See the ITC26&APFA11 website for detailed information.

Important dates

Deadline for abstract submission: August 24, 2017
Deadline for request of official documents required for visa: August 31, 2017
Notification of abstract acceptance: September 15, 2017
Deadline for registration: October 13, 2017
Deadline for excursion participation: October 13, 2017
Conference: December 5-8, 2017
Deadline for paper submission: December 28, 2017


In the case that you require a visa to enter Japan, necessary official documents
will be provided through the Local Organizing Committee. Please download the visa application form from the ITC26&APFA11 website and send the completed application form to

International Advisory Committee

Y. Takeiri (Chair), A. Ando, S. Chaturvedi (India), P. Chattopadhyay (India), S. Deshpande (India), K. Hanada, Y. S. Hwang (Korea), T. Klinger (Germany), K. Kim (Korea), A. Khare (India), Jiangang Li (China), Y. Liu (China), T. Mizuuchi, M. Mori, T.Muroga, T.Morisaki, Y. Nakashima, N. Ohno, Y. Ogawa, M. Osakabe, Y. K. Oh (Korea), H. Sugama, Y. Song (China), S. Sakakibara, M. Tendler (Sweden), M. Wada, F.L. Waelbroeck (USA), N. Yanagi, Z. Yoshida, T. Yamanishi, S. Zhu (China)

International Program Committee

Y. Kamada (Chair), D. Campbell (ITER), X. Duan (China), R. Ganesh (India), J. Ghosh (India), P. Gohil (USA), W. Heidbrink (USA), C. Hidalgo (Spain), L. Hu (China), S. Inagaki, S. Karkari (India), J. G. Kwak (Korea), S. Kubo, T. Kaneko, K. Nagasaki, H. Nagatomo, A. Nishimura, B. Pégourié (France), M. Puiatti (Italy), H. K. Park (Korea), U. Stroth (Germany), M. Sakamoto, T. Terai, R. Wolf (Germany), S. Yoon (Korea), M. Yagi, M. Zarnstorff (USA), M. Yokoyama, T. Akiyama

Local Organizing Committee

S. Sakakibara (Chair), T. Akiyama (Scientific Secretary), N. Ashikawa, M. Emoto, H. Funaba, M. Goto, A. Ito, M. Isobe, K. Ida, T. Ido, S. Kamio, S. Komada, Y. Kamiya, T. Kobayashi, S. Muto, K. Mukai, Y. Narushima, S. Nishimura, K. Nagaoka, M. Nakata, H. Nakanishi, T. Nishitani, S. Ohdachi, J. Ohkawa, K. Ogawa, T. Ozaki, B. J. Peterson, Y. Suzuki, A. Shimizu, T. Saze, C. Suzuki, T. Tokuzawa, N. Tamura, H. Takahashi, Y. Tsuchibushi, K, Tanaka, M. Yokoyama, T. Yoshida, I. Yamada, R. Yasuhara, M. Yoshinuma

General Contact Address